Posted by Russell Sommerfeld
On May 5, 2018, the annual Seward Rotary Service Celebration with the new addition of an fundraising auction was conducted at the Seward County Agricultural Pavilion. 

On May 5, 2018, the annual Seward Rotary Service Celebration with the new addition of an fundraising auction was conducted at the Seward County Agricultural Pavilion.  300 community members, including almost all of the Seward Rotary Club members were attendance. The evening began with a delicious banquet meal prepared and served by Pac N Save of Seward.   Seward businesswoman and community volunteer Dixie Zabka was presented with the annual Rotary Service above Self Award for her tireless efforts to place service above self in the Seward community.  Seward businessman David Ficke of Babyboomers' Motorcycles was also recognized with the Wayne Tanderup Award for overcoming obstacles to become a successful contributor to Seward's business community.  The crowd gave Dixie and David rousing standing ovations.  The Seward Rotary donated $1000 in Dixie Zabka's name to eradicate Polio worldwide.  David Ficke who has overcome speech and mobility difficulties due to Cerebral Ataxia received a trophy in remembrance of the late Wayne Tanderup who overcame Polio to bring success to Seward Motor Freight.  Wayne also initiated Rotary’s commitment to Polio eradication by personally going to area Rotary clubs to speak and make personal monetary donations.   

Coach John Cook of the University of Nebraska national champion volleyball team inspired and engaged the crowd with wisdom for athletic success and daily life.  Coach Cook kept the audience’s attention for an hour with numerous examples of motivating and empowering human performance and relationships.  He also generously signed numerous autographs of his recent book, Dream Like a Champion: Wins, Losses, and Leadership the Nebraska Volleyball Way.  

The community was generous through silent and live auctions in support of Rotary's local service projects and international eradication of Polio.  Rotarians donated thirty-three items for the silent auction.  Russ and Diane Moravec of the Moravec Auction Company of David City provided auctioneer services for a rousing live auction.  Rotarians donated various items for both silent and live auctions.  Thirteen donors provided generous items for the live auction, including Gary and Melanie Ayres, Blue River Jewelry, Jones National Bank and Trust Co., Todd & Mindy LaVelle, Luebbe Farms, Mark Kolterman, Jon and Tina Marroquin, Pac N Save, Seward Lumber, Joan Tanderup, Allison Fees Varah, Greg & Dixie Zabka and the Seward Rotary Club.  During the evening artist Allison Fees Varah of Litchfield, Nebraska who is a Concordia University graduate live-painted a landscape that was sold on the auction.  

Twenty-four community businesses and individuals purchased sponsorship tables to add to the support.  They included Allure, Awe Salon, Alan Baldwin, John and Susan Ann Blomenberg, Blue River Jewelry, Cattle Bank and Trust, Fast Mart, Brian and Laurie Friedrich, Hackbart Chiropractic Center, Hartmann Construction, Herpolsheimers, Jones National Bank and Trust Co., Ken Morgan CPA, Kuhlman Construction, Roger & Patricia Lindner, Luebbe Farms, Marroquin Law Office, Plum Creek Ag., Precision Pilates, Seward Animal Hospital, Seward Motor Freight, Seward Lumber, Suhr and Lichty Insurance Agency, Mike Vance, and the Zabka Funeral Home. Coach Cook had signed UNL Volleyballs for each sponsor table.  

After expenses, the Seward Rotary Club raised $9,425.82.  $4,712.91 will be sent to Rotary International for the ongoing elimination of Polio, while the remaining $4,712.91 will be utilized for local Rotary service projects.  

Rotarian Kevin Zadina of the Seward County Independent was generous in promoting the event.  While all members of the Seward Rotary Club are to be commended for their participation in making this event possible, kudos go to planning committee members:  Todd Lavelle, Shelly Nitz, Allison Garrett Johnson, Annette Wallman, Trish Lindner, Melanie Ayres, Ken Schmieding, Greg Zabka, Rick Endicott, Clark Kolterman and Russ Sommerfeld.