Seward Service Celebration
Seward Rotary Club has for years recognized residents of Seward County for their significant contributions to our community.  The Service Above Self Award is annually presented to a county resident who exemplifies the Rotary motto of "Service Above Self."  The award recipient is also presented with a Rotary International Paul Harris Fellow. 
The late Wayne Tanderup, a longtime Seward Rotary Club member, was instrumental in building financial support for Rotary International's worldwide polio eradication initiative within Seward Rotary Club and Rotary District 5650 in eastern Nebraska and western Iowa.  Tanderup, a polio survivor himself, over came his own battle with polio to become a successful business man and active community citizen.  Annually, an award is presented in his honor to a resident of Seward County who has likewise overcome adversity in life. 
In order to raise awareness and community appreciation for the honorees, Seward Rotary Club hosted its first Seward Service Celebration in May 2017.  Now an annual event, the Seward Service Celebration also raises financial support for Rotary projects, both locally and internationally. 
This year's Seward Service Celebration will be held on Saturday, May 22, 2021 at the Seward County Ag Pavilion and honors Gail Brand and Marla Jisa.  The event will also feature a special salute to Hughes Brothers, Inc. for their history of strong community support.  The featured speaker will be Jim Rose, former Voice of the Huskers, and the dinner will be catered by Kerry's of McCool Junction.  There will once again be both a live and silent auction, with all proceeds supporting Rotary projects.
Tickets are $45 and may be purchased at the link below.  Table sponsorships starting at $300 are also available - for more information, email
Please note that the event will be held in compliance with then applicable city, Four Corners Health Department, and State of Nebraska guidance related to the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.
Service Above Self Honorees
  • Gail Brand
  • Dixie Zabka
  • Julie Wisehart
  • Vikki Gremel
  • Lloyd & Carol Schulz
  • Sue Imig
  • Jack Swanson
  • Concordia University
  • Richard Stillahn
  • Jack Aegerter
  • Douglas Brand
  • Clara Mayland
  • William "Bill" Hartmann
  • Mike Hecker
  • Dr. Orville C Walz
  • Dr. Byron Winter
  • Harold Davisson
  • Frieda Dittman
  • Roger Glawatz
  • Jane Graff
  • Dr. Marshall Adams
  • Della Miers
  • Tom Rea
  • Betty Jean Kolterman
  • Jack Duensing
  • Mel Bolte
  • Dessalee Rosselle
  • Tom Wright
  • Dr. Len Schuster
  • Dorothea Bek
Wayne Tandrup Honorees
  • Marla Jisa
  • David Ficke
  • Tina Schaben
  • Levy Dybdal
  • Tammy Howrey
  • Frances Rine
  • Joan Naber
  • Todd Ehlers
  • Sarah Garbers
  • Logan Flood
  • John Wiemer
  • Matt Bradl
  • Brian Pike
  • Stephen Smith
  • Tait Rief
Facebook Like Button